Jump to content

Thompson Rivers University


Recommended Posts

At Thompson Rivers University, student success is our priority. We empower our students to reach their goals with flexible learning options, individualized student services, hands-on learning opportunities, and a diverse, inclusive environment. For 45 years, TRU has taken pride in providing an excellent education to every student who comes to us from a wide variety of backgrounds and perspectives at various learning journeys. Nearly 26,000 students study on our campuses in Kamloops and Williams Lake, or distance or online courses and programs through Open Learning.
From traditional academics to trades, from certificates to graduate degrees, TRU offers over 140 on-campus programs and 60 Open Learning programs to choose from. Our students apply what they learn in co-op work terms, study abroad, undergraduate research, field schools, and practicums, service learning, and other opportunities — with guidance and mentorship by our accessible faculty. Research, creation, and innovation thrive in our open, flexible learning environment. And so do our students.
TRU is a comprehensive, learner-centered, environmentally responsible institution that serves its regional, national, and international learners and their communities through high quality and flexible education, training, research, and scholarship. TRU will prioritize academic engagement and programs which fully develop our learners' knowledge and skills and support student career success. TRU will prioritize programs and practices that support diversity, inclusion, and intercultural understanding between Aboriginal, local, regional, and global communities. TRU will prioritize the development and mobilization of scholarship, research, training, teaching innovation, professional practice, and creative capacity to benefit people. TRU will prioritize entrepreneurial collaboration and social enterprise that mutually benefits the university and the communities we serve. TRU will prioritize initiatives that mutually benefit the university and the communities we serve.
The academic vision of Thompson Rivers University includes the recognition and celebration of the location of our primary and regional campuses in the traditional territories of Aboriginal people: the Kamloops campus is situated in Tk' emlups territory the Williams Lake campus is situated in the T'exelcemc the 100 Mile House regional center is situated in Tsq'escenemc the Ashcroft regional center is situated in the Ashcroft First Nation, belonging to the Nlaka'pmx Nation the Barriere and Clearwater regional centers are situated in Simpcw territory, and the Lillooet regional center is situated in the St'át' IMC Nation, which includes Bridge River (Nxwisten), Pavilion (Ts'kw'aylacw), Cayoose Creek (Sekw'el' was), Mt. Currie (Lil' wat), Seton Lake (Chalath), Lillooet (T'it'  quiet), Fountain (Xáxl' IP), Anderson Lake (N'quatqua), Douglas (Xa'xtsa), Skatin and Samahquam. Thompson Rivers University recognizes the need to include learning opportunities for all Aboriginal students, including First Nations, Inuit, and Métis learners.
TRU's Academic Plan ensures our students have access to a research-informed education. Our communities have access to the benefits of scholarly, research, and creative activities to solve community problems and enrich community life. The varied ways TRU implements the Academic Plan, from Aboriginal TRU Start and Global Competency to programs like Interdisciplinary Studies and the Teaching and Learning Scholars, provide students with access to excellence.
Governance at TRU is divided into three bodies responsible for corporate and academic decision-making. The Board of Governors makes decisions on such matters as property development, labor, and finance. The Senate and the Planning Council for Open Learning make decisions on curriculum, credentials, admissions, and educational policies. The Province of British Columbia legislates the composition, powers, and duties of each governing body in the Thompson Rivers University Act.
The Board of Governors is responsible for the management, administration, and control of the property, revenue, business, and affairs of the university, except those vested in the Senate or the Planning Council for Open Learning. The Senate is responsible for the academic affairs of the university. The Senate sets criteria for awarding credentials, curriculum content, qualifications for admission, and educational policies and procedures. The Planning Council for Open Learning sets the admissions and residency requirements for courses, programs, and credentials offered through TRU's Open Learning Division. The Office of the General Counsel and Secretariat represents the university's legal interests and its officers and employees while acting on TRU's behalf. TRU policies and regulations are developed by the Board of Governors, Senate, and Planning Council for Open Learning. The President's Council develops operational policies.
TRU is a public post-secondary institution, funded by the Province of British Columbia through the Ministry of Advanced Education, Innovation and Technology. The University Act legislates the university's leadership, including the powers, duties, and offices of the president. The president holds the vice-chancellor offices, member of the Board of Governors and chair of the Senate.

View full university

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...